Purple Potato Salad: Just Because!

Purple potato salad!

Purple potato salad!

20150506_105900With weather warming up, it’ll soon be time for picnics, potlucks, and cookouts. If you want to really surprise people, make purple (actually more like lavender once it’s made up) potato salad! This is the same as my potato salad recipe, but since I’ve found purple potatoes in the store lately, I couldn’t resist using them to make up potato salad. It tastes just like my potato salad recipe, but such color! (I used new potatoes of the same or similar variety for Roasted New Potatoes Mediterranean Style.)

I cooked the potatoes the day before I made it up…and served it the day after that. Because I didn’t cook the potatoes at the same time as making it up, I left the green onion raw, rather than steaming it under the potatoes. Other than that, it’s the same as my usual recipe (click through above). I cooked the potatoes whole, with skins on (I’m lazy). They’re not much to look at until you cut into them! The dressing subdues the color quite a bit, but still, this is color is irresistable.

The color of the potatoes was so striking that I couldn’t resist snapping pics as I added in ingredients. This is the most fun I’ve ever had making potato salad. Impossible not to grin while mixing this up!

Green onions & celery brighten it even more

Green onions & celery brighten it even more

 

Add pimentos and the color really pops!

Add pimentos and the color really pops!

Like the bright colors? This will go well with my Frankenslaw!

One thought on “Purple Potato Salad: Just Because!

Leave a Reply

