Hazelnut Date Scones (Vegan)

Hazelnut date scones, piping hot!

Hazelnut date scones, piping hot!

This is yet another variation on my Hazelnut Scones Three Ways recipe. This is a fourth variation, with an added twist that I used soy milk for the milk. I’m experimenting with substituting soy milk in some recipes and used it recently in Apricot Ginger Scones, so I thought I’d see how it works in this recipe which has ground hazelnuts as half the base. The soy milk worked well and the dates were a good addition to this hazelnut scone recipe. I’m sure that there are some add-ins which won’t go well with hazelnuts, but so far I haven’t found any! If you’d like to browse my other scones recipes (and related articles) check out the scones tag. I’m in the process of testing my various scone recipes with soy milk; as I do I’ll make a note in each recipe if that substitution works.

I’ve used both dried chopped dates and whole pitted dates which I chopped myself. They both make delicious scones. I use slightly more dates than I do add-ins in my Hazelnut Scones 3 Ways recipe.

  • 1 1/4 cups of ground hazelnuts
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1Tbls baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbls sugar
  • 8 Tbls Smart Balance Original margarine
  • 1/3 cup dried dates (I used SunMaid Deglet Noor dates)
  • 1/2 cup Silk Organic Unsweetened Soy Milk

Preheat oven 425.

If you don’t have access to hazelnut meal (which I’ve rarely seen), do as I do and grind hazelnuts into a meal in either a coffee grinder or food processor. The meal will be soft and fluffy so it needs to be pressed down in the measuring cup to get an accurate measure. It only takes seconds to make the small amount of meal needed for the recipe, so this extra step in scone making does not add an appreciable amount of time or effort to the preparation.

Mix dry ingredients. Cut in margarine with a fork, pastry blender, or your fingers. Then toss in dates. Mix in with your fingers, breaking up any pieces that look or feel too big. This is especially important if you used whole dates which you chopped yourself, not because you did a poor job of chopping, but because those dates are much stickier and tend to clump. Separate out any clumps and sift through your fingers until the mix looks more or less homogenous.

Add soy milk. Stir until it forms a sticky dough. Form into a dozen balls, about 2 inches in diameter, I’d guess.

Bake on ungreased cookie sheet at 425 for 15 minutes. Your oven may vary. Scones should be slightly browned on top and done all the way through when tested with a toothpick. If some of the balls of dough were bigger than others, test those for doneness.

While the scones are baking, make a pot of tea (or coffee, if you prefer). These scones go particularly well with strong black British breakfast tea blends. Serve the scones hot from the oven. Store cooled leftover scones in an airtight container. They’re good the next day, too! (Assuming you have any left over!) 😉

 

Leave a Reply

