Gingerbread: Ninjas and Zombies

Ninjabread Man in action!

Ninjabread Man in action!

OK, I haven’t created the zombies yet, but with Christmas closing in on us, I thought I’d go ahead and post a bit about gingerbread ninjas. Last year I got some cookie cutters called “Ninjabread Men” and had some fun with them. The gingerbread men recipe that came with them made good gingerbread men, but curiosity got the better of me and I experimented with making the man from my old gingerbread recipe since it was for a very dense loaf-type gingerbread. And…it worked! (You’ll need to add more flour to make a workable dough. I’ve added a note to the bottom of the gingerbread recipe about gingerbread men. I would caution you that you need to roll the dough out very thin or you’ll end up with hilariously fat ninjas! The figures are thin, not just in the thickness of the dough, but also with thin arms and legs unlike the short wider limbs of traditional gingerbread men, so they don’t hold their precise shape when you transfer them from the cutting board (or parchment paper, etc) to the baking sheet. This isn’t a problem, though: it means you can make adjustments to their “stance” when you lay them out for baking. This Halloween I scored some “zombie” cookie cutters, so come Christmas, it will be zombies versus ninjas! Here’s the recipe for my gingerbread, which is super easy…and if you roll it very thin, it will make a nice chewy gingerbread man (or ninja, or zombie).

20140101_104656

Leave a Reply

