Pumpkin Muffins

pumpkin muffinsToday it is 27C and humid, but last week it was cold and RDF (rain, drizzle, and fog) so I was looking for something cozy and comforting to make; something that would be tasty with a cup of hot tea or coffee.  These pumpkin muffins hit the spot – perfectly moist with just enough raisins to make it chewy.

You will need:

  • flax eggs to equal four eggs (4 tbsp flax seed with 12 tbsp of water – make this first so it has time to set [about 15 minutes] before you need to add it to the recipe)
  • 2 cups of sugar (I used organic)
  • 1 1/2 cups of oil (I used canola)
  • 1 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cups of flour (I used spelt)
  • 2 cups raisins (I used organic)

Put flax eggs in a large bowl.  Add sugar, pumpkin, oil, and beat thoroughly.

Add dry ingredients and mix with a spoon or spatula until batter is smooth.  Stir in raisins.

Fill muffin pans almost to the top (about 2/3 full) and bake at 375.  I found the muffins took about 25 minutes before they weren’t dunchy in the middle, but you should probably check on them after 15-20 minutes.

This recipe yields 30 regular size muffins.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Thanks for this recipe! I was wondering about flax eggs: do they recapitulate the structural characteristics of chicken eggs pretty closely? I am thinking about a trying them in a recipe. Thanks!
    D

    • Flax eggs most closely resemble chicken eggs. Chicken eggs work as foaming agents, emulsifiers, and structure builders when used in cooking. Flax seeds have an outer hull that is mostly mucilage or gel once it is drawn out of the flax seed. This gel works as a mild emulsifier, foaming agent, and structure builder when cooked. While most recipes for flax eggs call for the flax seeds to be ground and then added to the water, I have used only the whole flax seed in water method. I give it a quick stir to make sure all the seeds are wet and then I leave it for fifteen minutes or so. Every recipe I have tried with this flax egg method has been successful. I hope your flax eggs are a success. Please let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

