Sloppy Joes!

Preparing Sloppy Joe and Cheesy Joes

Preparing Sloppy Joe and Cheesy Joes

This is a variation of an heirloom recipe. In my family Sloppy Joes involved canned something-or-other, but my father-in-law made them from scratch, calling it “BBQ hamburger”. I’ve converted this to be vegetarian by eliminating the Worchestershire sauce (and adding a bit of liquid smoke) and using original Smart Ground as a meat substitute. If the Tabasco makes it a bit too tangy for your taste, cut back on it and use a bit more chili powder. I don’t usually measure anymore when I make this (but I did make it according to the recipe before posting this in order to give you precise measurements for my substitutions). I also sometimes throw in a bit of dried minced onion.

1 pkg Smart Ground
1 cup ketchup
1 tsp chili powder (I use Mexene)
1 tsp Tabasco
1/2 tsp liquid smoke (I use Colgin Mesquite)

Mix all ingredients in a skillet or pot, breaking up Smart Ground to fine consistency. Add (at least) 1/2 cup water. Bring to simmer on med-low heat. Simmer 30 minutes on Low. Stir occasionally.

Depending on your stove and how wet you like your Sloppy Joes, you may need to add more water, but add as little as possible unless you like your Sloppys soupy. If you overdo it on water, just simmer until it’s the consistency you want.

Option: add cheddar cheese (or vegan equivalent) for Cheesy Joes!

Sloppy Joe and Cheesy Joe

Sloppy Joe and Cheesy Joe

Leave a Reply

