Luscious Oatmeal

Luscious Oatmeal with Chobani raspberry yogurt, topped with pecans and nutmeg!

Luscious Oatmeal with Chobani raspberry yogurt, topped with pecans and nutmeg!

I’m not a breakfast person, but this past year I’ve made an effort to eat something every morning for breakfast instead having tea then taking a mid-morning break to eat. My breakfast usually consists of yogurt (I love Chobani. They have so many flavors which taste great!) or a protein shake, either homemade or one of the Bolthouse Farms drinks. But cold weather has me craving warmth, so I started experimenting with oatmeal. Oatmeal became something I loved after eating it on cold mornings when camping in winter. It tastes like happiness, beautiful scenery and friendship. 🙂 So, my mind naturally turned to it for a warm breakfast. I married it to my recent yogurt habit with astonishing results. Though I haven’t tried it with all the flavors of Chobani yogurt it works good with a lot of them. The tricky part is cooking the oatmeal in the microwave. I have had adventures with this over the years. It’s not uncommon for me to end up with an oatmeal volcano overflowing in the microwave, so watch carefully with your finger hovering over the Stop button if you cook it in the microwave.  Microwaving seems to work better in shallow soup bowls with sloping sides than in something like the grab-it bowl pictured above. (What does this say about technology — or me — that I’ve had less mishaps cooking oatmeal on a camp stove than a microwave?) 😆

I use regular Quaker Oats cooked in water. The recipe below is for a single serving. Make adjustments as necessary for feeding a famished family.

  • 1/4 cup Old Fashioned Quaker Oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 handful pecan pieces
  • 1  5.3oz cup Chobani yogurt (apricot, peach, mango, raspberry, blueberry, strawberry, blackberry, black cherry, passionfruit, pomegranate)
  • sprinkle of nutmeg (or other spice, see below)

Note that the amount of oats is half what one serving would be. Cook the oatmeal according to directions on package. I use water for this and do it in the microwave. It takes 2-3 minutes. You can heat the pecans along with the oats and water, or sprinkle on top after adding the yogurt.

After the oatmeal is cooked, stir up the yogurt (fruit on the bottom) and stir it into the oatmeal. Stir in pecans if you haven’t already added them. Sprinkle a small amount of nutmeg on top (not as much as you would cinnamon, maybe not more than a pinch or two. I kind of overdid it in the picture above). Ahhhhh…..I really think the nutmeg is what puts this recipe over the top!

The yogurt will bring the temperature of the oatmeal from scalding hot to warm. If it’s not warm enough, zap it in the microwave for a few seconds at a time until your preferred temperature is reached.

Options:

I have tried the flavors of Chobani yogurt listed above with oatmeal. These fruits all work well with the nutmeg. Some might also be good with cinnamon, but I’m partial to nutmeg in fruit dishes, so that’s what I tried first. Adding cinnamon to oatmeal (or fruit) is the more common choice, so this will give you alternative option. (Or go wild and add a pinch of both!)

Ginger is also a possibility: I’ve added a bit of ground ginger instead of nutmeg with the following Chobani yogurts: mango, peach, apricot, pineapple and passion fruit.

I’ve also discovered that cardamom is excellent with Chobani pomegranate and black cherry in oatmeal. Do NOT sprinkle the cardamom! I sprinkled waaaay too much when I first tried this. Next time I measured: 1/4 tsp ground cardamom is about right to my taste. You may prefer slightly less, but I’d hesitate to use more (unless you’re just a fiend for cardamom). 😉

Allspice is good with black cherry and strawberry, and raspberry but, as with the cardamon above, I only use a small amount.

Chinese five spice powder is good with black cherry. This mixture of spices may vary slightly depending on the brand. (I get mine from Penzys.)

This is a wonderful warm creamy breakfast. There are lots of options: fruit choices, spice choices, and you could probably swap out some other kind of nut (walnut? almond?) as well, so you can have something different every day. It’s all natural (Chobani yogurt has no preservatives), fast and easy, and it tastes positively decadent. 😀

One thought on “Luscious Oatmeal

  1. Oatmeal is my absolute favorite breakfast and I eat it every morning! I love adding sliced bananas to mine for natural sweetness and peanut butter after long runs for added protein!

Leave a Reply

