Frankenslaw

Frankenslaw

Frankenslaw

This is an original recipe. I tried a coleslaw recipe many years ago that included apples. I thought that sounded like a good idea. Unfortunately the recipe wasn’t very good, but the idea stuck in my mind, so a couple of years ago I decided to try to make coleslaw from scratch—with nothing to guide me except taste. The apples and cabbage thing seemed natural to me: it’s a combination I’ve run across before. Then I thought of apple and raisin salad for some reason. If raisins go with apples and apples go with cabbage…but thinking of apple and raisin salad made me also think of carrot and raisin salad. It seemed like all these things from different dishes would go together. Hence the name “Frankenslaw”, a coleslaw put together with ingredients from different dishes. It can be made with just green cabbage, but adding some red cabbage lends more color (and can turn the dressing pink) and with the orange of the carrots it’s a very visually appealing dish.

1 head green cabbage, coarsely chopped
1/2 – 1 head red cabbage, coarsely chopped
2 organic carrots, grated
2 med. Gala apples, peeled and grated
1 cup raisins
1 cup reduced-fat mayonnaise
2-3 Tbls lemon juice

If the head of red cabbage is small, you may want to use the whole cabbage. Wash vegetables. Peel apples and carrots. When slicing, chopping or prepping the cabbage, remove the core. Grate, chop or process the vegetables in whatever way you’re most comfortable with. I’ve done it both ways, using a food processor and slicing the cabbage thinly by hand then coarsely chopping. My current food processor sometimes tends to overdo things so though it’s more trouble I sometimes to do the cabbage by hand, rinsing the cabbage and spinning in a salad spinner between the slicing and chopping. I do it in batches, putting the cabbage in a ceramic or plastic bowl after coarsely chopping. Whether you like your slaw fine or coarse and how good your food processor is will determine which method you use. (My food processor has a slice slot on the flip side of the grating blade. That works much better than using the grating blade.)

I’ve noticed that I’m more likely to have pink(ish) dressing if I use the food processor for the red cabbage: it just seems to bleed into the dressing more. Carrots can also be run though a food processor or grated by hand: in this case I prefer the food processor. Peel the apples and grate however seems best to you. (I use the food processor.) It takes a bit of time to prepare the vegetables, but it’s not difficult even if you don’t have a food processor.

Frankenslaw: colorful and flavorful.

Frankenslaw: colorful and flavorful.

Stir all together well. This makes a lot. You’ll need a big bowl, a really big bowl, which is glass or plastic, not metal. My biggest bowl is usually filled to overflowing. Stirring in the dressing and mixing the vegetables evenly can be tricky in a full bowl. I’ve tried doing it with a big spoon and a salad fork/spoon, but the best way is to put on plastic food-handling gloves and turn over the mixture by hand until the dressing and vegetables are thoroughly mixed and evenly distributed.

Refrigerate, covered, in big plastic or ceramic bowl for at least 8 hours. Flavor improves over time. This is usually better if it’s made a day ahead of time.

Look for next Friday’s original cookout recipe: Potato Salad!

Last week’s original cookout recipe: BBQ Baked Beans

Leave a Reply

